CALBAYOG CITY, Samar, (PNA) –- A total of 490,420 names appeared on the final list of registered voters for the May 9, 2016 elections in Samar province, lower than what the Commission on Elections (Comelec) recorded two years ago.

The drop in the number of voters, according to the Comelec, was the result of the cleansing/deactivation of some voters due to absence of biometric data, unable to vote for the past two elections as well as the transfer of registration of some voters to other places.

Among the 24 towns and two cities in the province, this city remains a vote-rich area with 110,028 registered voters.

Other top five areas with high-voting population are Catbalogan City (60,033), Basey (31,643), Daram (25,607), and Sta. Rita (24,877).

Samar province has 951 villages. It has a total of 3,385 established precincts and 1,165 clustered precincts.

Meanwhile, the local police has already stepped up its plan to secure the peace and order of the province for the coming elections.

In Calbayog City, city police chief Supt. Salvador Tagle said that stricter conduct of checkpoint will be implemented starting Jan. 10 as election period starts. Gun ban will be enforced during this period.

Tagle calls on the support and cooperation of the public for the smooth conduct of checkpoints.

“We would like to appeal to the public to support the authorities and follow what are prohibited during the election period, especially carrying of guns,” he added. (PNA)