asean-at-50-logoTACLOBAN CITY, Leyte, August 1 (PIA) –Three local government units in Eastern Visayas signified to join the nationwide Landmark Lighting Activity on August 8, 2017, in observance of the 50th anniversary of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

These are the municipality of Palo and the cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, all in Leyte province.

The city government of Tacloban spearheaded by Mayor Cristina G. Romualdez has lined up various activities to include division poster & slogan making contest, ASEAN Quiz bee, and ASEAN street parade around the main streets of the city to be highlighted by the Landmark Lantern Lighting at 7 o’clock in the evening at Kanhuraw Hill followed by a fireworks display to mark the culmination of the activity.

Cash prizes, certificates and trophies await the winners of the various contests and participants of the parade where special awards will be given, such as Best in Costume, Best in Attendance and Jolliest Group.

Aside from Tacloban, it is also expected that various activities will be conducted in the municipality of Palo under Mayor Remedios L. Petilla, and Ormoc City under Mayor Richard Gomez.

Such event will be participated by various schools of the city and the 134 barangays of Tacloban.

As governments within the ASEAN continue to work together, the goal is to not only make an economically stronger and more peaceful region, but a safer one for all of its citizens.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on August 8, 1967, in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam then joined on January 7, 1984, Viet Nam on July 28, 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on July 23, 1997, and Cambodia on April 30, 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN. (PIA8/ajc/cba)